Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SSS to PC interface

Hello all,

I'm getting back into a project for building a SSS for shipwreck hunting here in SE NC, now that I almost have my boat back from the shop. I'm a PC systems admin and programmer by trade, so I was thinking about hooking up a SSS to a laptop. My question though is what kind of data is coming out of the transducer cable? Is it digital? Or sound? I need to know what I'm working with in order to code a program to interpret the data and give a graphic representation. Thanks in advance.

-christen

Re: SSS to PC interface

are you going to use the home built using fish finder type transducers ?
    The unit sends out an electronic signal that bounces off objects and returns to your depth finder’s transducer. Because sound travels at a uniform speed, the depth finder can measure the distance to an object based on the amount of time it takes for the signal to return.

Comment

Charles,

I'm doing the home-built thing. I'm going to build one similar to yours and Dan's. I'm wondering if there is any way to make an interface with the fishfinder, or maybe to 'jack-in' with the line between the transducers and the fishfinder. I'm guessing I'll need a dsp as well once I'm able to get a signal. I can then route this through my serial port and write a VB program to interpret the data.

Comment

keep me posted. I use a laptop on my boat with a GPS program. Am going to try and run my magnetometer with it. What area are you in. My Dan is finished just got a new X16 to use with it.

Comment

Hi Charles,