Improvements on Fishfinder Sidescan Transducers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Improvements on Fishfinder Sidescan Transducers

This may be of interest for all of you who want to build or run a Fishfinder Sidescan Sonar.

Perhaps one year ago I saw some pages dealing with this technique, especially the page by Dan Fountain and this discussion forum. Since my original field of interest is optics and astronomy I have some experience on wave optics, and sonar transducers are wave-optical components. I realized that it could be an improvement on the row of fishfinder transducer, if you don`t mount them uniformly spaced as up to now all home-builders do. This helps to suppress unwanted sidelobes, that are the main problem in this setup with individual, more or less widely spaced transducers. To find an optimal configuration I ran some diffraction-simulations, and I was really astonished what a large improvement can be made. You can find the results on my homepage:

http://www.beugungsbild.de/sidescan/sidescan.html

Re: Improvements on Fishfinder Sidescan Transducers

Hi,